California Statute of Limitations
If you have suffered an injury in an accident because someone else acted negligently, you may want to pursue financial compensation by filing a civil lawsuit against the responsible party. One of the most common mistakes people make when pursuing financial compensation is waiting too long to file a lawsuit. If you wait too long after suffering an injury, the statute of limitations may run out on your claim, making it impossible to take legal action.
It is important to take swift and appropriate action after suffering an injury in an accident so you can get the financial compensation you need. Contact a San Diego personal injury attorney of Ritter & Associates by calling (619) 296-0123 today to discuss the potential merits of legal action in your case.
What is the Statute of Limitations?
The statute of limitations establishes a fixed period in which an individual may pursue a civil lawsuit, or how long the state may file criminal charges. This exists to reduce the ability of individuals to seek claims when they have not truly suffered but rather have decided that they feel wronged about a past event. It also controls the risk of witnesses or evidence proving to be unreliable or unavailable due to the passage of time.
Though there are some circumstances which may lead to an adjustment of the start-date of the statute of limitations period, and there may be exceptions on other grounds, the following are some of the pertinent limits in California:
- Personal Injury – 2 years
- Product Liability – 2 years
- Property Damages – 3 years
If you have been hurt due to the negligence or recklessness of another party, we can help you to hold them accountable for the harm that you have suffered. Contact a San Diego personal injury attorney at Ritter & Associates today. Call us at (619) 296-0123.